Sourdough Onion Bread (Machine) Recipe

I’m one of “those” kind of people. Are you as well? People who hate white bread because it has no nutrition and no flavor at all? It kind of reminds me of wearing clean, white tennis shoes while growing up. I don’t know about you, but my friends would step all over shoes like that so they wouldn’t be white anymore. They figured they were doing whoever was wearing those shoes a favor!

That’s how I feel about white bread. I “dirty” it up with some whole grain flavor and nutrition… give it some substance, some character.

I love the savory sourness of this wonderful bread!

This recipe is adapted from http://allrecipes.com/recipe/san-francisco-sourdough-bread/detail.aspx. It makes a two pound loaf.

Sourdough Onion Bread

  • 1 cup sourdough starter (see my last post – http://lifeofcolors.com/2012/05/24/the-life-of-a-sourdough-starter)
  • 2/3 cup warm soy milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 1-1/2 tablespoons softened butter
  • 1-1/2 cups unbleached bread flour
  • 1-1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3 tablespoons dried sliced onion
  • 2 tablespoons raw sugar
  • 1-3/4 teaspoons salt (I use about 2 teaspoons because of living at a high altitude)
  • 1 package active dry yeast (or 2-1/4 teaspoons active dry yeast)
  • extra water if needed, about 1 tablespoon at a time

Directions:

  1. Place all ingredients into pan of bread machine in order listed. Make a well to put the yeast into so it doesn’t touch the liquid, salt or sugar until the machine is turned on.
  2. Bake on basic setting . Cool at least 15 minutes on wire racks before slicing.

Enjoy! Let me know what you think. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Sourdough Onion Bread (Machine) Recipe

  1. Hi bread lovers,

    I’ve recently started working with Sourdoughs International and I’m learning the difference between using authentic wild yeast and commercial yeast (bakers yeast) the taste and appearance is so different it is absolutely amazing! I totally recommend that you check it out at http://www.sourdo.com, EnJoY!!

Leave a Reply

