Savory Mozarella Garlic Bread (Machine) Recipe

I was sitting there on my couch, reading peacefully and minding my own business, when all of a sudden the voice in my head started speaking. “It’s time to make some bread!” I protested because my book was good and I wanted to keep reading, but it was no use. “Sharon, this time create your own recipe. Don’t look at what someone else has done. Come up with something from the ingredients you have. Just try it and see what happens.”

So, out came the sour cream, mozarella cheese, garlic, and sourdough starter. I knew I should use a little rye flour to keep it savory and make it more interesting. This is what I came up with…

“Good bread is the most fundamentally satisfying of all foods; and good bread with fresh butter, the greatest of feasts.” –  James Beard

Savory Mozarella Garlic Bread

  • 1 cup sourdough starter
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 3/4 cup vanilla soymilk (or regular milk)
  • 1 cup cubed mozarella cheese (about 1/4″ wide by 1″ long pieces)
  • 9 minced garlic cloves (I’d suggest about 5 cloves unless you really like garlic flavor)
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1-3/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup rye flour
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons yeast

The top isn’t totally smooth on mine because I should have added a bit more water (maybe one more tablespoon). Between the semi-arid climate and the high altitude here, I always have to adjust my recipes.

The verdict?

I asked several friends to try some and tell me what they thought. First, though, I told them if they said it was bad I would never let them be my guinea pig again. Just kidding! They all said they were a little surprised by the taste at the first bite, but the more they ate the more they liked it. 🙂 I liked it as well.

One of them thought it would make great croutons. Another felt it would be great for savory type sandwiches. Another thought it would be wonderful as toast with just butter on it. (I ate a piece of buttered toast while writing this and totally agree with their assessment!). This one is definitely a keeper.

Sometimes it’s a good idea to listen to the voice in your head.

Let me know in the comments if you try this recipe, or if you have made bread without (sort of) following a recipe and how it turned out.

2 thoughts on “Savory Mozarella Garlic Bread (Machine) Recipe

Leave a Reply

