Sourdough Quinoa Bread

Once a month people descend on my little home for an evening of homemade bread and soup. This coming Friday is the next get-together. It’s always interesting to try to figure out how many will come. I ask for RSVP’s to get a ballpark figure… there are always people who say they will come who don’t make it, and others who just show up anyways. Normally it’s anywhere from 25-45 people. Hopefully I won’t end up with lots left over this time.

So I decided to come up with a new bread recipe for the evening. I wanted to try making some bread with Quinoa. Quinoa is not technically a grain, but it’s seeds are edible and tasty, and people have been eating it for over 4000 years! It’s a fantastic source of protein and a slow releasing source of carbohydrates, and full of nutrition.

Sourdough Quinoa Bread for the bread machine

  • 1 cup sourdough starter
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 2 tablespoons soft butter
  • 2 cups all purpose unbleached flour
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 2 tablespoons raw sugar
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 teaspoons dry active yeast

Directions:

  1. Place all ingredients into pan of bread machine in order listed. Make a well to put the yeast into so it doesn’t touch the liquid.
  2. Bake on basic setting . Cool at least 15 minutes on wire racks before slicing.

When it was finished, I was afraid the quinoa was going to be hard because of how it looked. (I didn’t cook it first as it’s a very quick cooking “non-grain”).

I took small pieces around to friends to have them taste test it for me. It’s a heavy dense bread.

The verdict? Next time I will use honey instead of sugar and try three tablespoons of it. That means I’ll need to cut back a bit on the other liquids. All of them said it needed a bit more sweetness, but that it was still good. And all of them liked the texture of it. I told them I would serve it with butter and honey this time to knock that bit of sourness off. They all said it was a keeper. 🙂

Leave a Reply

