A Walk in the Woods

Here are a few pictures I took during a walk in the woods a month or so ago. I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoyed the walk!

Be as a bird perched on a frail branch that she feels bending beneath her, still she sings away all the same, knowing she has wings. – Victor Hugo

This was on the entry way to the path. Notice the frog on the lock. What does that say to you?

A genuine man goes to the roots. To be a radical is no more than that: to go to the roots. – Jose Marti

A fly and it’s shadow on an amazing mushroom.
“The earth laughs in flowers.”
― Ralph Waldo Emerson
Do you enjoy taking walks? What are your favorite type places to walk in? When you walk do you take the time to really look around you? I’d love to hear about your experiences. 🙂
2 thoughts on “A Walk in the Woods

  1. I still love these pics! Going for a walk or kayak ride are two of my favorite things to do. I like bike riding as well, but that’s more about the wind blowing across you face, not about seeing/noticing things. I normally just walk to town or around town. I love noticing things in people’s yards that I wouldn’t notice when driving by in a car. My favorite kind of walk is with my two young grand children, ages 3 and 1. The three year old often notices things that I’ve walked past for years. It’s so interesting to see thing through the eyes and wonder of a child. Once we, when we walked by a house with a cement decorative dog out front, Addie (3 yrs old) was incredible fascinated with it. Upon leaving, I offered, “What a nice dog, I wonder if he has a name?” It still makes me smile that she causally/seriously informed the me, “And, Bingo is his name, oh” and continued walking.

    • One of my favorite things about walking is taking the time to stop (or at least slow down) and actually look at things. I could “power” walk, but then the goal isn’t to enjoy it anymore, it’s just to get it done so I can check it off the list.

      You sure can’t take a fast walk when you are with a child (unless you want to carry them)! What a cute story about your granddaughter and the dog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

