Pinto Bean Bread

Does the name pinto bean bread scare you? Don’t let it! This has been a favorite each time I’ve made it. People can’t believe it actually has pinto beans in it! It’s great as a sandwich bread, but at my dinners I just have butter and sometimes honey available to put on it.

This Pinto Bean Bread recipe is found in “Easy, Fabulous Bread Making. A collection of quick, no-knead, homemade bread recipes” by Barbara Mack. Links to buy the book are below. This recipe requires time, but no kneading, and it’s very simple to make! (The picture shows all the wrinkles… as I couldn’t get the saran wrap to cooperate when it was rising)!

โ€œGood bread is the most fundamentally satisfying of all foods; and good bread with fresh butter, the greatest of feasts.โ€ – James Beard

Pinto Bean Bread

  • 1/2 cup cooked and mashed pinto beans
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1-1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 2 teaspoons yeast
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable or olive oil
  • 3 cups flour

Mix all ingredients except flour together in large bowl. Add in half the flour; beat well. Add in remaining flour and mix thoroughly, but do not knead. Cover and refrigerate for at least 8 hours, for up to 5 days.

Shape into one large or two small boules. Cover and let rise until doubled. Bake at 350F for 45 minutes (for one large loaf) or 30 minutes for two smaller loaves. When you thump the bottom of the loaf, it should sound hollow.

How I did it…

I followed the recipe except I used 1-1/2 cup unbleached all purpose flour and 1-1/2 cup whole wheat flour. I cooked and mashed the beans first. As you can see, I left pieces of the beans and didn’t mash it completely.

This is what the dough looked like before it rose.

I left mine in the refrigerator for almost 24 hours. Because I live at higher altitude it takes longer to rise. Last time I made it I only had it in the refrigerator for about 8 hours, so it didn’t rise as well.

I shaped it and put it on my “baking stone” to let it rise a second time.

I let it double in size and baked it.

I didn’t put enough spray on my baking stone. It’s still new and hasn’t been seasoned yet. So, some of the bread stuck to it. But, it still tasted great! ๐Ÿ™‚

The verdict?

This bread is always a hit! People can’t believe it has beans in it. I suggest you try it so you, too, can become a believer. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s a delicious, nutritious bread.

Links to buy the book: the paperback edition: http://www.amazon.com/Easy-Fabulous-Bread-Making-collection/dp/1453886451/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1340142644&sr=1-1&keywords=Easy%2C+Fabulous+Bread+Making andย  the Kindle edition: http://www.amazon.com/Easy-Fabulous-Bread-Making-ebook/dp/B0047DX0TY/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1340142760&sr=1-1&keywords=Easy%2C+Fabulous+Bread+Making

3 thoughts on “Pinto Bean Bread

Leave a Reply

