Weekly Photo Challenge – Fleeting Moment

On Tuesday of this week, I was evacuated from my home because of the Waldo Canyon Fire near/in Colorado Springs, CO… the biggest natural disaster ever in Colorado. Things can change in an instant!

I find being near water brings peace (even when I haven’t had to flee an inferno of smoke and flames :-). I visited a park today with my nephew and his children (who I’m staying with while evacuated) and took this picture. This tiny waterfall, in Boulder Creek is only about 6 inches tall. But look at all the fleeting bubbles! (I had no idea what the challenge would be when I took this).

“Leisure is a form of silence, not noiselessness. It is the silence of contemplation such as occurs when we let our minds rest on a rosebud, a child at play, a Divine mystery, or a waterfall.” – Fulton J. Sheen

++++++++++

“Life is mostly froth and bubble, Two things stand like stone, Kindness in another’s trouble, Courage in your own” – Adam Lindsay Gordon

I’m so grateful to find out I have a home to go back to even though it’s not out of danger yet. I could have lost everything… gone, in an instant! Many people did, including friends of mine.

(This challenge asked for a fleeting moment on the street. I realize this picture is not on a street, but it says a lot about about the topic for me, especially under my current circumstances. I hope you understand…)

Has your life ever changed in an instant? Please tell me about it in the comments.

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Fleeting Moment

  1. Sorry to hear about the fire’s devastation. I’m glad that you and your family were safe and were able to return in your home. I know the feeling of being in a calamity and how at one point everything can be taken from you in an instant. To me nature , faith and love of family helps me overcome my worst hours and times of fear. Moving post. And yes, there water image is peaceful…stay blessed.

  2. Thank you island traveler. I came home today, to a home that is safe and sound. I might take a drive around the area shortly, not to gawk at others’ calamity, but just to see the reality… It was so horrendous when I left. I totally agree that nature, faith and love of family are key in times like this. Thanks again.

  3. Glad to hear all is OK, but how scary was that? I lived in an apartment complex that had many false alarms, so I was told if it was real someone would bang on my door. Once night after 10PM the alarm went and I figured another false alarm…. until there was a banging on my door. My heart stopped as I grabbed my coat, keys and cat and fled into the cold night. Luckily it was a small cooking fire and contained, but the fear at that instant was terrible.

    • It’s amazing how things can change so quickly, isn’t it? The wind kicks up and all of a sudden something that wasn’t bad initially threatens everything. The fire started jumping the “lines” that were supposedly containing it, and it roared into the city. We were getting voluntary evacuation notices earlier in the day, Then BAM! Time to go…

      I’m glad the fire in your situation was a small fire and contained.

      • It is scary and so unpredicatable. My mom lived in a small village growing up and she said they used the war sirens to warn people to evacuate due to forest fires. “Smokey” the small mountain near by is aptly named due to all the forest fires. I can’t imagine the panic and fear… my example was small compared to the devestations of these larger fires…

Leave a Reply

