Quinoa, Flax Seed Bread (Machine)

The bread machine looked innocent enough at my nephew’s house. Most bread machines are not picky, right? Who ever heard of a picky bread machine? I have now discovered one… It was out to get me from the start. I’m always a bit uncomfortable when I make things in someone else’s kitchen. Maybe the machine sensed that and decided to take a bite?

I decided what I wanted to make from the ingredients readily available in the kitchen. There were two kinds of flour in one container that looked like all-purpose and whole wheat. I found a jar that said quinoa on the lid and a jar full of what looked like flax seeds. There was yeast in the refrigerator and a squeeze bottle of honey on the stove.

I put the ingredients together, then turned the machine on. The light came on and I adjusted the settings. The timer started at five hours. Five. Hours. What? I’ve never heard of a bread machine taking five hours! But I thought I would wait for awhile and see. Maybe it needed to get to a certain temperature to start? After an hour of nothing except the timer going down I was really confused. It didn’t knead the bread, it didn’t get warm, nothing at all happened.

So I called my niece and asked. She said the machine was kind of picky, she has to follow the recipe exactly, and that it takes a long time to make bread in it. Seems how I didn’t have “the” recipe and all the ingredients were already in the machine, I tried readjusting the settings. This time it came up at four hours. Again nothing happened for awhile. But I decided to walk away and let it do it’s thing.

Four hours later, this is the bread that emerged…

I think I might fondly call it my Frankenstein bread. It’s has lots of holes and gouges and is totally misshapen. I don’t think it rose much, if at all. All it’s missing are the nuts and bolts. ๐Ÿ™‚

Despite how it looks, it tastes pretty good. It’s very dense. It’s a bit dry, but toasted andย  buttered, it would be quite tasty. Here is the recipe:

Quinoa, Flax Seed Bread

  • 1 cup water
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 1/4 cup flax seed
  • 3-1/4 cups mixture of all purpose unbleached flour and whole wheat flour
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 teaspoons dry active yeast

Directions:

  1. Place all ingredients into pan of bread machine in order listed. Make a well to put the yeast into so it doesnโ€™t touch the liquid.
  2. Bake on basic setting . Cool at least 15 minutes on wire racks before slicing.

The verdict?

I would make this again… with my own (or simply another normal) bread machine! ๐Ÿ™‚ I prefer my loaves to not have gouges and bites out of them when they come out of the machine.

 

5 thoughts on “Quinoa, Flax Seed Bread (Machine)

  1. Should the quinoa be cooked first? That would greatly affect the moisture in the bread, which in turn modifies the glutens as they form – in this case not allowing them to, which is why it didn’t rise. Not sure – I’ve never made quinoa bread, although it sounds like it could be really delicious ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Bread machines are evil. I was quite happy when mine broke. I then invested in a kitchenaid to knead the dough. I will say that the one redeeming feature of my old breadmaker was the dough setting on timer – awesome for weeknight pizza making! I need to rig the kitchenaid to a timer plugin and experiment with that… or not.

Leave a Reply

