Wheat, Oat, Hemp Bread Recipe (Machine)

I’m in a six-week seminar that is teaching me how to teach. On Thursday It was my first presentation and I was being videoed. The class was listening intently as I spoke about hospitality… until the fire alarm went off! So I was asked to start over. And guess what? After a few minutes the fire alarm went off again! On the third try, I was able to do the whole presentation.

Now, I don’t know about you, but getting up in front of people is not my favorite thing to do… especially when it’s being videoed and critiqued by the others. And, having two fire alarms kind of messed with me. But, I survived. 🙂

It helped that I had the bread machine going in the classroom and served bread just before I started. The more you can involve the class, the better. And through the bread, the butter, the home-made jam, the plates, and the specially folded napkins, I was also showing them hospitality… doing the little extra things to make each person feel special and cared about.

True hospitality is marked by an open response to the dignity of each and every person. – Kathleen Norris

I didn’t take pictures of the plates because I was in class. And, the bread was done with the timer on the machine, so I couldn’t supervise the process. But here is a picture of how the bread turned out:

Wheat, Oat, Hemp Bread for the bread machine – one 2 lb. loaf

  • 1 cup water
  • 2 cups all purpose unbleached flour
  • 1-1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 4 tablespoons hemp hearts
  • 3 tablespoons raw sugar
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 teaspoons dry active yeast

Directions:

  1. Place all ingredients into pan of bread machine in order listed. Make a well to put the yeast into so it doesn’t touch the liquid.
  2. Bake on basic setting . Cool at least 15 minutes on wire racks before slicing.

The verdict?

Everybody said it was really good! I will make it again.

The verdict on the video? I’ll find out on Tuesday when I get individual feedback from my teacher.

The verdict on the fire alarm? I think my presentation would have been better if I hadn’t been interrupted twice, but there was grace extended. 🙂 And hopefully it won’t go off again during my next presentation…

Leave a Reply

