Matcha Green Tea Bread Recipe (for the machine)

“Do you like green eggs and ham?” “I do not like them, Sam-I-am. I do not like green eggs and ham!” “So how about green bread instead? Flavored by matcha?” is what I said!

I bought some Matcha Green Tea Powder from Stash Tea and thought I might try using it in bread. This is the recipe I came up with…

Matcha Green Tea Bread

  • 1 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 2 cups all purpose unbleached flour
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons matcha green tea powder
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 teaspoons dry active yeast

Directions:

  1. Place all ingredients into pan of bread machine in order listed. Make a well to put the yeast into so it doesn’t touch the liquid.
  2. Bake on basic setting . Cool at least 20 minutes on a wire rack before slicing.

The verdict?

It was moist and dense, and delicious, especially still warm from the bread machine! I watched some people’s eyes close in pleasure when they tried it. 🙂 I made it to go with my Red Veggie Soup (http://lifeofcolors.com/2012/07/10/red-veggie-soup/)  Most people totally enjoyed dipping it in the soup and eating it that way. The flavors really complimented each other.

It’s also very tasty toasted.

Next time I would use less of the Matcha Tea. The tea is really expensive and it would probably still taste wonderful with a tablespoon or less of it.

“We do so like green Matcha bread! Thank you! Thank you”, they all said!

 

2 thoughts on “Matcha Green Tea Bread Recipe (for the machine)

  1. This bread looks great. My sister has changed her diet due to cancer and so I always look for interesting recipes to compliment her diet. I haven’t ever heard of green tea powder though (I’m in Sydney, not sure if we can get it here). Might need to experiment with grinding tea leaves??

    • You can use other kinds of green tea… I just wanted to experiment with Matcha. I’ve used several different kinds of teas. I use 2 or 3 teabags or 1-3 tablespoons of the loose tea leaves. You don’t really need to grind them. But, you won’t get the green color in the bread if you use other teas. 🙂

      Matcha is the type of tea used in Japanese Tea Ceremonies. It has a very unique, strong flavor.

      I got mine through stashtea.com, but it doesn’t look like they ship outside of the USA or Canada. It can also be ordered through amazon.com. Look for an expensive one, as the quality will be much better.

Leave a comment